STOCKDALE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR CALLED MEETING April 8, 2024

Board of Trustees of the Stockdale Independent School District held a regular meeting on Monday, April 8, 2024.

Board members present: Tanner Voelkel, Teri Dugi, Blaine Akin, Mauro Monita, Sherry Lambeck, Reuben Johnson and CJ Urrabazo.

Also present were Superintendent, Todd Deaver; Administration Secretary, Erica Haley and Dawn Polasek Barnett from Wilson County Tax Appraisal.

Call to order at 6:30 p.m.

President Tanner Voelkel reserved the right to call a short recess if deemed necessary. He advised all present to refrain from the use of tobacco products on the school grounds and during the meeting. He also reserved the right to call the Board into Closed Session under Texas Government Code Section 551.001 through 551.088, Subchapter D and E.

Audience with people wishing to address the Board: Frances Hassmann. She addressed the board regarding the Denhawken Land Lease.

Mr. Deaver and the board recognize the Mighty Brahma Band for their accomplishments throughout the year.

Dawn Polasek Barnett with Wilson County Tax Appraisal speaks to the board about taxes. This agenda item is tabled to the next board meeting for discussion/action.

Blaine Akin made a motion to approve the previous Board minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by CJ Urrabazo. The motion was passed unanimously.

Mr. Deaver reviewed the current Financial Reports and Stockdale ISD bills provided to the Board and answered questions concerning the reports.

The proposed 2024-2025 Compensation plan is tabled to the board meeting.

Mr. Deaver makes a recommendation to appoint Rachel Stritzke and Joyce Miller as the Judges for the May, 4 2024 School Board Election. A motion was made by CJ Urrabazo to accept the recommendation and seconded by Reuben Johnson. The motion was passed unanimously.

Mr. Deaver makes a recommendation to designate Sarah Rangel and Rena Mills as Deputy Early Voting Clerks for the School Board Election. A motion was made by Teri Dugi to accept the recommendation and seconded by Sherry Lambeck. The motion was passed unanimously.

President Tanner Voelkel read aloud the annual board training announcement. He announced which board members completed training and who still needs to complete some required training.

The following first year board members are deficient in meeting the required local district Orientation training: Reuben Johnson.

The following first-year board members have time remaining to complete the Local District Orientation and have not yet scheduled this training: <u>Reuben Johnson</u>.

The following first year board members are deficient in meeting the required Orientation to the Texas Education Code training: Reuben Johnson.

The following first-year board members have time remaining to complete the Orientation to the Texas Education Code and have not yet scheduled this training: Reuben Johnson.

STOCKDALE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR CALLED MEETING April 8, 2024

No board members were required to complete Post-Legislative Update to the Texas Education Code Training for the time period covered by this announcement.

The following board members have completed the annual team-building training: <u>Tanner Voelkel, Teri Dugi, CJ Urrabazo, Mauro Monita, Blaine Akin, Sherry Lambeck and Reuben Johnson.</u>

The following board members have completed the additional continuing education requirements: N/A
The following board members are deficient in meeting the additional continuing education requirements:
Tanner Voelkel, Teri Dugi, CJ Urrabazo, Mauro Monita, Blaine Akin, Sherry Lambeck and Reuben
Johnson.

The following board members have time remaining to complete the additional continuing education requirements and have not yet scheduled this training: <u>Tanner Voelkel, Teri Dugi, CJ Urrabazo, Mauro Monita</u>, Blaine Akin, Sherry Lambeck and Reuben Johnson.

The following board members have completed the biennial training on evaluating student academic performance and settings goals: <u>Tanner Voelkel, Teri Dugi, CJ Urrabazo, Mauro Monita, Blaine Akin, Sherry Lambeck and Reuben Johnson.</u>

The following board members have scheduled training to complete the biennial training on evaluating student academic performance and settings goals: N/A

The following board members have completed the biennial training on identifying and reporting abuse and trafficking: <u>Tanner Voelkel</u>, <u>Teri Dugi</u>, <u>CJ Urrabazo</u>, <u>Mauro Monita</u>, <u>Blaine Akin</u>, <u>and Sherry Lambeck</u>.

The following board members are deficient in meeting the biennial training on identifying and reporting abuse and trafficking: Reuben Johnson.

The following first-year board members have time remaining to complete the biennial training on identifying and reporting abuse and trafficking and have not yet scheduled this training: <u>Reuben Johnson</u>.

CLOSED SESSION: (Texas Govt. Code Section 551.071, 551.074 and 551.072 et seq)

The Board was called into closed session at 7:18 p.m. The Board reconvened to open session at 8:57 p.m.

Closed Session Agenda Items:

- Mr. Deaver made a recommendation to approve 1-year extensions of Administrative Contracts/Renewals for Elementary, Junior High and High school Teachers.
 - O A motion was made by CJ Urrabazo to approve the elementary Teacher contracts/renewals and seconded by Reuben Johnson with Mauro Monita abstaining due to his wife working at the campus. The motion passed unanimously.
 - A motion was made by Teri Dugi to approve the Junior High Teacher contracts/renewals and seconded by CJ Urrabazo. The motion passed unanimously.
 - A motion was made by Teri Dugi to approve the High School Teacher contracts/renewals and seconded by CJ Urrabazo. The motion passed unanimously.
- Mr. Deaver made a recommendation to hire Jason Cunningham as HS Principal for a 1-year probationary Contract for the 2024-2025 School Year. A motion was made by Reuben Johnson and seconded by CJ Urrabazo to accept the recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

STOCKDALE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR CALLED MEETING April 8, 2024

Superintendent Report

- · No new Safety and security updates.
- Teacher Recognition
 - o High School Tracy Clapp
 - o Junior High Macie Neill
 - o Elementary Lisa James

Motion to adjourn was made by Teri Dugi and seconded by CJ Urrabazo. The motion passed unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 9:03 p.m.

Tanner Voelkel, President

Un alles

Teri Dugi, Secretary